Tag Archives: ASLA-MN

ASLA-MN Honor and Merit Award Recipients Announced

Each year the American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA) invites accredited Landscape Architecture programs to nominate graduating students for the ASLA Honor and Merit Awards. Eligible candidates must have maintained a 3.5 cumulative GPA, must demonstrate the highest level of academic scholarship, and must exhibit willingness to work with others, self-motivation, and responsibility. Pictured from left to right: Michael Richardson, Erin Garnaas-Holmes, Michael Schiebe and Amber Hill  This year’s jury for the ASLA-MN Student Awards selected Amber Hill and Erin Garnaas-Holmes to be the recipients of the 2014 ASLA Honor Awards, and Michael Richardson and Michael Schiebe to be the recipients of the 2014 ASLA Merit Awards. They will be presented at the Minnesota Chapter at the ASLA-MN Awards Banquet…

Read more

ASLA-MN's Top Award Goes to Duwamish Studio

Over the past 100 years, the lower Duwamish River Valley of Seattle, Washington has been dramatically altered. What was once home to Chief Seattle and the Duwamish Tribe has become one of the largest and most complex EPA Superfund sites in the United States.During the fall semester of 2012, graduate students in LA8201: Everywhere Nowhere Duwamish, a studio taught by Matthew Tucker and Craig Wilson, traveled to Seattle to work with local non-profits to generate design proposals for the Duwamish River Valley. Their models contemplated ecological resiliency, sea level and climate change, urban agriculture, environmental justice, carbon sequestration, blue-green infrastructure, and superfund clean-up. This allowed them to broaden their understanding of the complex issues surrounding the valley and its future….

Read more

Don Ganje (BLA '73) Granted Fellow Status by ASLA

Don Ganje (BLA '73) was elevated to the status of Fellow by the American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA) during their 2012 Annual Meeting and Expo. His 38-year career with Saint Paul Parks and Recreation includes work on Como and Mears Parks, Raspberry Island and the Bruce Vento Nature Sanctuary. Most recently he worked on the Great River Passage, an extensive master plan for unifying St. Paul's riverfront. A statement from ASLA describes Ganje as someone with an eye, "for the smallest site detail and mastery of vast public open spaces, he has the ability to make places where people feel welcome and that comfort, excite, and encourage them to interact. He further infuses his colleagues with a passion for…

Read more

Master of Landscape Architecture Students Receive ASLA-MN Honors

Anna Lawrence Bierbrauer (MLA ’12) and Emily Lowery (MLA ’12) received the Women in Landscape Architecture Student Leadership Award from ASLA-MN. The award recognizes the accomplishments of emerging women leaders in the field of landscape architecture.As first year MLA students, Bierbrauer and Lowery (pictured left) were inspired by the  theories and questions  addressed within landscape architecture, but frustrated by the lack of outlet to practice those concepts. “We co-founded Students for Design Activism as a forum to create, address, and apply our ideas,” explained Bierbrauer. “Through our own pluck and gumption we’ve found that we can define our own path into professional practice rather than following the standard approach.” Their current project, Three Ring Gardens, is focused on creating a…

Read more

Matt Wilkens' (BED '97) MN Zoo Project Earns Merit Design Award from ASLA-MN

Matt Wilkens (BED ’97), a landscape architect with Damon Farber Associates, and his team received a Merit Design Award from ASLA-MN for their work on the Woodland Adventure Playground at the Minnesota Zoo. The playground is an interactive, nature-based play area located off the Zoo’s Central Plaza. The 4,800 square-foot space includes animal and natural object sculptures, suspension bridges, nets, tunnels, and slides for children age 3-12. Wilkens is past president of the Design Student and Alumni board. Learn more about our Landscape Architecture programVIDEO: Kids try out the MN Zoo Woodland Adventure PlaygroundWilken’s profile from Damon Farber Associates…

Read more

Clinton Hewitt Receives 2012 President's Award for Outstanding Service

Clinton Hewitt (Emeritus, Landscape Architecture) is the recipient of the 2012 President’s Award for Outstanding Service, an award recognizing his remarkable work with the University and in the field of Landscape Architecture.  Professor Hewitt is recognized for greatly expanding the understanding and impact of landscape architecture. When he retired in 2009, friends and colleagues established the Clinton N. Hewitt Fellowship to celebrate his leadership and provide a financial award to landscape architecture students with exceptional potential.”Clint is the embodiment of the climate of respect that underpins the everyday dignity of the University of Minnesota,” said Professor Lance Neckar, head of the Department of Landscape Architecture. In 2011, Professor Hewitt was named a Fellow of the American Society of Landscape Architecture…

Read more

Landscape Architecture alumni receive ASLA-MN design awards

The American Society of Landscape Architects-Minnesota Chapter (ASLA-MN) presented their design awards on April 29, 2011 at the ASLA-MN 2011 Awards Celebration and Gala.

Bryan Carlson, FASLA (BLA, 1971), Bryan Carlson Planning and Landscape Architecture, received the Lob Pine Award, the highest Honor given by ASLA-MN. Recipients of this award demonstrate exemplary leadership and mentorship for the landscape architecture community over an extended period of time.

Cindy Zerger (Center for Changing Landscapes; MLA/MURP, 2008) received the H.W.S. Cleveland Award. The award is given annually to an individual trained in landscape architecture who is not yet licensed. Recipients have shown through their work and service to ASLA-MN that they have the potential to be a leader in the profession.

oslund.and.assoc., Tom Oslund’s (BLA, 1980) landscape architecture firm, received the Public Landscape Design Award for Target Plaza.

Savanna Designs, Jim Hagstrom’s (BLA, 1975) landscape architecture firm, received the Private Landscape Design Award for Waverly Gardens.

The Community Design Excellence Award was received by Cecily Hines of the Minneapolis Parks Foundation for her work with the Next Generation of Parks speaker series and Minneapolis Riverfront Design Competition. The College of Design and Department of Landscape Architecture co-sponsored the Next Generation of Parks speaker series and were creative partners for the Minneapolis Riverfront Design Competition.

Read more