Tag Archives: AIA

AIA Elevates School of Architecture Faculty and Alumni to College of Fellows

The American Institute of Architects (AIA) recently elevated four Minnesota architects to the AIA College of Fellows in recognition of their contributions to the profession and society. The School of Architecture can count three out of the four new Minnesota fellows among its faculty and alumni: William Blanski (B.Arch ’85), design principal with HGA Architects and Engineers; Renée Cheng, professor of […]

Read more

Adam Lund (B.S. Arch '03) Receives AIA Illinois Award

Adam Lund (B.S. Arch ’03) is the recipient of the AIA Illinois John Wellborn Root Award, which recognizes exemplary, noteworthy service or design talent of an AIA architect licensed less than 10 years. Lund is a Project Architect in the Chicago office of Perkins+Will, a global architecture and design firm. Lund’s passion for socially conscious design, sustainable urban planning and high-performance architecture are  visible in his body of work, which includes the Historic Shaw Technology and Learning Center, a former Power House for the Sears and Roebuck campus transformed into a LEED NC Platinum charter high school and community center in Chicago. Lund also won an AIA Chicago 2013 Devine Detail Award for solving a practical life safety issue in…

Read more

Architecture Alumni Named to AIA College of Fellows

The 2014 Jury of Fellows from the American Institute of Architects (AIA) elevated 139 AIA members to its prestigious College of Fellows, including five alumni from the School of Architecture. Out of a total AIA membership of over 80,000 there are over 3,000 members distinguished with this honor.            Michael Bjornberg (BArch ’79)             HGA Architects and Engineers         Ted Davis (BA ’74, B.Arch ’76)RSP Architects    Norman Garden (B.Arch ’82)RTKL Associates Inc. Albert Lindeke III (M.Arch ’80)Rafferty Rafferty Tollefson Lindeke Architects Inc.Julia Robinson (B.Arch ’71)University of Minnesota School of Architecture                In addition, two alumni served on the 2014 Jury of Fellows: Craig Rafferty (BA/B.Arch ’70)Raymond Yeh (M.Arch ’69) The Fellowship program was developed to elevate those architects who have made…

Read more
1 2 3 4