School of Architecture Faculty Win Four ACSA Awards

UMN Columns

The College of Design is pleased to announce that faculty in the School of Architecture have received four of the 2018 Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA) Awards.

Each year, ACSA honors outstanding architectural educators for their work in the areas of buildings design, community collaborations, scholarship, service, and more. Award recipients are individuals who inspire and challenge students, contribute to the profession’s knowledge base and extend their research outside of the realms of academia and into practice.

This year the School of Architecture had three faculty members receive four awards:

Renee Cheng received the Distinguished Professor Award and the Practice Leadership Award for the Professional Practice class required for M.Arch and MSRP students.

Jacob Mans received one of two Best Article Awards for his piece “Scaling for Non-Expert Production” in the Journal of Architectural Education.

Jennifer Newsom received the Faculty Design award for her work, “Longing.”

It is important to note that over the 33-year history of the ACSA awards only 136 individuals have received the honor of becoming a Distinguished Professor. The School of Architecture can now count two faculty members among those ranks, Renee Cheng and Julia Robinson.

In addition to winning four awards, the School of Architecture will be well represented at the ACSA conference this spring where Minnesota Design Center Director Tom Fisher will be moderating one of the panels and giving a presentation.

You can learn more about the awards and the ACSA on their website.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *