Meet the 2014 Thomas F. Ellerbe Scholarship Recipients

DSC_7601.jpgThis year marks the 33rd anniversary of the Thomas F. Ellerbe (TFE) scholarship. The TFE Scholarship Foundation was initially funded by the Ellerbe Associates, Inc. firm in 1981 to honor Tom Ellerbe (pictured right), 88 years old at the time, for his ongoing generosity of personally giving full year scholarships to worthy University of Minnesota and Notre Dame architectural students. The TFE scholarship also includes engineering students. To date there have been 16 engineering and 56 architectural recipients receiving a total of $133,000 in awards. 

MORE: Past recipients of the Thomas F. Ellerbe scholarship

Through a juried process, five architectural finalists and one engineering finalist were selected for the 2014 award: Will Adams, Philip Bussey, Amy Ennen, Mitchell Hein, Claire Lonsbury, and Shuping Wang; all representing excellence in their student careers at the University of Minnesota.

M3079.jpgThe winners of the architectural scholarship are Kaylyn Kirby, Sanyong Hahn, and Dan Raznick.

The basic assessment criteria for judging the architectural portfolios was: rigor of design, general creativity, clarity of presentation, and range of challenges explored. The basic assessment criteria for judging the engineering submissions were: general creativity in scientific breakthrough thinking and research that has the potential to positively impact the sustainability of the built environment. The TFE scholarship is administered by the Minnesota Architectural Foundation. This year’s scholarship was enhanced by a special gift of $1,000 from AIA National’s Component Scholarship Grant program. 

MORE: Learn more about the School of Architecture

There will be a reception celebrating the scholarship finalists and recipients on Tuesday, February 25, 5:30-6:30 pm at the Goldstein Museum of Design’s HGA Gallery in the School of Architecture.

More stories from the College of Design: